Butler football now in Division III, Region 10

Butler head coach Greg Bush likes the move to Division III for his Aviators, but says that they must take care of business to take advantage of it.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Butler Aviators football team will compete in Division III this year after the Ohio High School Athletic Association announced the new divisions and playoff regions for the 2015 and 2016 seasons. Divisional realignment occurs every two years and, in football, is based on male enrollment.

Butler’s enrollment figure, 415, was just under the cutoff of 422 at the top end of Division III.

The Aviators will compete in Region 10 which includes Piqua, Tippecanoe, Greenville, Trotwood-Madison, Springfield Shawnee, Tecumseh, Carroll, Dunbar, Meadowdale, and Bellbrook.

“This brings some balance to the regions because while there are a lot of quality teams in that new region, there aren’t as many really good teams in Division III as there are II,” said Butler head coach Greg Bush. “There are teams in the region we have never seen before, and then there are a lot of teams who we play on a regular basis.”

Bush said ultimately, Butler will determine its own fate to a large degree.

“If you don’t do well in your regular season schedule, then what division you are in doesn’t matter,” he said. “And if you have done a good job of scheduling and win, then you should get in to the playoffs. There are some teams who have a schedule that, even if they win, they may or may not get in. We are in a position with our schedule that if we win we should be in.”

Some Cincinnati area schools in the region are Northwest, Mt. Healthy, Taft, Winton Woods, and Norwood.

A complete list of all 107 schools in the region can be found on the OHSAA web site.

Also on the OHSAA website are statewide composite schedules and additional information for the 714 schools that will compete this fall around Ohio.

Practice begins August 1 and regular-season games begin the week of August 24. The regular-season ends Saturday, Oct. 31, with 224 playoff spots – 32 in each of seven divisions – awarded on Sunday, Nov. 1. The state championships return to Ohio Stadium in Columbus December 3, 4 and 5.